V.A. - Beyond The Calico Wall (US 60`s garagepsych, Voxx CDrip, single flac + cue, log, artwork)


*** Reviewed by great fellow Adamus67 ***

US Voxx lb, 1993, VXS 200051, Psych mayhem; Includes ultra obscure material by Park Avenue Playground, Rasputin & His Mad Monks, Afterglow, Bohemian Vendetta,Spontaneous Generation, Cosmic Rock Show. Okay you sixties fans of stuff like The Animals and The Amboy Dukes and other psychedelic garage rock, look out. Voxx brings you 20 terrific, obscure, unreleased 1960s musical adventures. These are not subdued folk tracks. They are the wildest, nuttiest freakouts of rock's 'flip past decade'. Only pure psychedelic mayhem. The collection starts off with "The Trip" by Park Avenue Playground, a song that bursts out of the gate with an explosion of fuzz guitar, organ, and mad siren-like oscillating effects, coming at you from all directions, seemingly. Next up is "Suzie's gone" by Afterglow, definitely one of the weirdest singles ever. Some of these came from actual released albums,still others are from long forgotten 45s from long forgotten labels collection! A real scream! and much more. 
Thank you so much Adam for that effort

BEYOND THE CALICO WALL is a compilation of '60s acid-psych music originally released in the U.K. in 1990. It contains 14 tracks. Beyond the Calico Wall (1996) is a 20-track compilation of psychedelic subversions from the guru of all but forgotten '60s underground rock, Greg Shaw -- who founded Voxx in the late '70s as an alternative to new wave and techno/synth pop. By the time retro became au courant in the mid-'80s, the label had established itself as a trendsetter. The core purpose of sets such as this is to -- by whatever means feasible -- present buried treasures and long-forgotten classics. As such, the audio quality is often a reflection of the lack of pristine source materials. However, the raw essence of the music remains unblemished, if not somehow enhanced in its honesty. All of the pieces are unbridled master strokes of the proto-punk D.I.Y. mentality married to the equally inspired garage rock psych of the mid- to late '60s. In a significant nod to collectors, none of these sides can be found on run-of-the-mill "best-of" anthologies, and there are only a mere handful that are available in any other incarnation. The material ranges from highly infectious pop melodies such as Duffy's spry rocker "Come Back Come Back" or the speed-fueled madness of the Waterproof Tinkertoy's trippy "Continuation." There are also a fair amount of indescribably acidic and downright far-out cuts, including the repetitive "Suzie's Gone" by the Afterglow and the rambling of Ceylib People's "Changes." In addition to the plethora of unearthed gems, Beyond the Calico Wall features a few familiar titles -- such as the faithfully extended 11-plus minute reworking of "In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida" from 6 Feet Under as well as Rasputin & the Mad Monks' jet-propelled rendering of "I Had Too Much to Dream (Last Night)." Bhagavad Gita includes a mid-tempo distortion-driven electric guitar wailer titled "Long Hair Soulful," which was co-written by Chuck Mangione -- who included his version on his Eyes of the Veiled Temptress (1988). It is unknown if the famed jazz flügelhorn player was once a member of this Ohio-based band. The casual consumer might best be served by the decidedly more mainstream Nuggets: Original Artyfacts from the First Psychedelic Era, 1965-1968 or the slightly more esoteric Pebbles series. Those who relish virtually unknown rock & roll relics in all manifestations will be enthralled by this release. The eight-page liner booklet gives some brief information on each band and in some cases photos, adverts, and other memorabilia where available. ~ Lindsay Planer
Compiled by Erik Lindgren. Includes liner notes by Erik Lindgren.

01. Park Avenue Playground – The Trip
02. Afterglow – Susie's Gone
03. Flower Power, The – Mt. Olympus
04. Pulse, The  – Burritt Bradley
05. Rasputin & The Mad Monks – I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night)
06. Alva Snelling – Clock On The Wall
07. Spontaneous Generation – Up In My Mind
08. Cosmic Rock Show – Psiship
09. Greek Fountains, The – An Experimented Terror
10. Duffy – Come Back, Come Back
11. Pebble Episode, The – Tripsy
12. Bohemian Vendetta – Paradox City
13. Demons Of Negativity – Resurrection
14. Ceyleib People, The – Changes
15. Waterproof Tinkertoy, The – Continuation
16. Bhagavad Gita – Long Hair Soulful
17. Raves, The – Mother Nature
18. Raik's Progress – Sewer Rat Love Chant
19. Riders Of The Mark – The Electronic Insides And Metal Complexion That Make Up Herr Dr. Krieg
20. Six Feet Under – In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida

Park Avenue Playground - The Trip 1967

Spontaneous Generation - Up In My Mind

Bhagavad Gita - Long Hair Soulful

[Rip and Scans by gigic2255]



  1. Super Sampler. Thank you very much, gigic2255!!!

  2. Thanx Gig, great comp, good listening!

  3. file not found, any chance of reuploading? thnx!

    1. Hey anon, reup done so just only tell us the truth, when the old DL link should be ok did you might be able to comment one magic word "Thanks"?? I guess not, enjoy the sound.

  4. It's all working now. Thanks a lot for wonderful comp!

  5. Link dead again. This is a great blog, featuring some rare & exciting music. It's a shame your team can't keep the links active for very long though.
    -Nick the Greek

  6. I agree with anonymus from marzo 16, 2014, what is point of musicblog if links are not maintained?


Postar um comentário

Postagens mais visitadas