Budgie: Nightflight (1981) {1993 Reissue} [FLAC]

Artist: Budgie

Album: Nightflight
Genre: Hard Rock, Proto-Metal
Year: 1981
Country: Wales
Label/Catalog: Repertoire Records/REP 4306-WZ (1993 Reissue)

Format: FLAC (image+cue+log)

No fim de 1981, o Budgie, agora revigorado, lançava o 'Nightflight', seu nono álbum de estúdio com capa feita por Derek Riggs, ilustrador que se tornou reconhecido por várias de capas feitas para o Iron Maiden. Apesar de ter sido feito nos moldes do álbum anterior, o 'Nightflight' está longe de ser uma continuação do 'Power Supply', uma vez que era um pouco mais suave, mas mais sofisticado, mais melódico e agora com elementos mais evidentes do hard blues e rock clássico. Os destaques do álbum são "I Turned To Stone", "She Used Me Up" e "Superstar", que desde então passaram a serem tocadas em praticamente todos os shows da banda.

Aparentemente é o álbum mais subestimado da banda, ainda que tivesse obtido posições razoáveis nas paradas britânicas, parece que não o suficiente pra garantir seu lugar merecido na história. De qualquer forma, muito desse álbum inspirou várias bandas dos anos 80 e, além disso, pode ser facilmente considerado um dos melhores álbuns do início da década.

Infelizmente ele se encontra fora de catálogo nos dias atuais, assim como o 'Power Supply' e o 'Deliver Us From Evil', mas há grandes possibilidades de todos eles serem remasterizados e relançados pela Noteworthy Productions, tal como fez com todos os outros álbuns da banda.

In the fall 1981, Budgie, now reinvigorated, released 'Nightflight', their ninth studio album with sleeve made by Derek Riggs, an illustrator who became highly recognized for creating many Iron Maiden sleeves. Although it had been done in the veins of their previous album, 'Nightflight' is far from being a continuation of 'Power Supply', once that it was slightly smoother, though more sophisficated, more melodic and with more evident elements of classic hard blues and rock. The album highlights are "I Turned To Stone", "She Used Me Up", and "Superstar", which since then were played in practically every concert.

Appearantly it's Budgie's most overlooked album, even though it reached some fairly good positions in the British charts, which didn't just seem enough to guarantee its deserved place in history. Otherwise, much of this album influenced many 80s bands, besides it can easily be considered one of the best albums of the early 80s.

Unfortunatly nowadays it is out of catalogue, just like 'Power Supply' and 'Deliver Us From Evil', but there are great possibilities of all of them to be remastered and reissued by Noteworthy Productions, such as it had done to all the other albums.

01 I Turned To Stone (6:08)
02 Keeping A Rendezvous (3:43)
03 Reaper Of The Glory (3:49)
04 She Used Me Up (3:16)
05 Don't Lay Down And Die (3:33)
06 Apparatus (2:51)
07 Superstar (3:27)
08 Change Your Ways (4:20)
09 Untitled Lullaby (1:16)

Burke Shelley - vocals, bass
Steve Williams - drums
John Thomas - guitars

Originally released as RCA LP 6003 in the UK in October 1981.



  1. When in 1980 BUGDIE unexpectedly showed heavy metal claw on the album "Power Supply" among old fans raised a wave of criticism following the change of style, and even the album, though very good, could not stand the competition in the fight against IRON MAIDEN, SAXON, or DIAMOND HEAD. It is hard to really say what factors determined that the next BUDGIE his album, he returned to play a much lighter, and aimed at a different audience than that which formed the NWOBHM era of dominance..."Nightflight" this album of uncertainty and compromise, but also a weakness which shows itself, recorded in a hurry and not fully thought through...ale it BUDGIE

    1. The opening song-'Turn to Stone' is a great opening track, and one of the strongest on the album. It starts with some lovely picking on the guitar and nice melodic vocal,combining the features of heavy metal compositions, with what BUDGIE played in the 70s, is also a beautiful solo by Thomas, in some respects, these stylized that played Bourge,leading in to a powered chorus, which finally gives way to a riff-crunching ending,this composition, the rate is changing and a place for reflection, and a metal power. In some respects the equivalent of 'Panzer Division Destroyed' and this piece is also known from the single, makes a great hope for a great follow-up. A great start and nicely sets the tone for what's to come... 'Keeping a Rendezvous' quickly follows with a great hookline sang with a harmony that sticks in the head, and remains a real anthem to the many Budgie fans. Shelley's vocals are not only strong throughout but distinctive enough to set him apart from the run of the mill vocalists of that era. John Thomas also shows that he can change the dynamics through his fine guitar work going from aggressive chord play to subtle picking at will.

      Next up is 'Reaper of the Glory', a straightforward riff-driven tune, which is punched home again by Shelley's vocal, which sits well with the steady play of Thomas (who does a great job on the vocal harmonies throughout)a word also has to go out to Steve Williams on Drums, his play while not over elaborate, is solid and he shows he can handle any given melody and lay down a suitable, interesting beat to whatever he's given.

      'She Used Me Up' burns out of the speakers next, and again like the previous track is a good solid rock standard, that hits all the right places, this track leans a little more to the earlier Budgie releases than any other on the album, and has a real 'live' feel to it(I can imagine the crowd lapping it up)For me it's one of the hidden gems that is sometimes overlooked in favour of some of the other big hitt ers on the album.

      Next comes the slowly-building (on drums) 'Don't Lay Down And Die', another outstanding track that powers its way through while again never losing it's melodic roots (a theme throughout) Thomas sticks to the big chords allowing the bass/drum combo to punch through like a runaway train, the vocal proves a useful foil against this backdrop and again this creates the anthem effect with sing-along chorus.... hard rock gem built on the simple riffs and simple chorus, here the band energy is still smoldering.

      On 'Apparatus' we see a change in the dynamic, with the tempo dropping and some of Thomas's nice guitar play coming to the fore, the heartfelt vocal takes centre stage and is a nice platform for Shelley to show his 'Celtic' brogue, which for me is what sets his voice apart. This track is nicely placed coming after the two rockers beforehand.

      After the drop in pace next up comes 'Superstar', with the guitar riff pulling you in and Shelley's rasping vocal telling you "you're a star". This is another gem of a track which became a firm favourite with the fans.

      'Change Your Ways' is one of those vocal harmonies that you can't help but sing along with, slighty slower in tempo, which allows the lyric the space it needs to do its job, the guitar/bass/drums here simply provide a backdrop and the tune relies on the vocal to carry it.

      The album ends with a tuneful 1:16min 'Untitled Lullaby' which is a nice way to complete the package.
      Could it be, could be like before?

    2. Adam, thanks a lot for your reviews for the Budgie albums I posted. And I'm looking forward to see your Bydgoszcz 1982 audience recording copy!! =DD

  2. Thanks for the Budgie posts .... they are still very much underated particularly for their earlier material.
    Leep up the great efforts on your blog !!


    1. You're welcome, Anchovy. I think the earlier albums - the four first in particular - are much more praised than the last ones. But to be honest, the Budgie essence is present in all over them.


Postar um comentário

Postagens mais visitadas