Khan: Space Shanty (1972) {2008 Japanese SHM-CD Remaster + Bonus Tracks} [APE]

Aê putada,

Fugindo um pouco dos chucrutes, hoje temos essa banda inglesa de Canterbury que lançou somente este álbum e cujos membros fariam parte de bandas consagradas como Egg, Gong, Hatfield & The North e National Health. O Khan - mesma pronúncia do grupo alemão Can - seguia a linha tradicional do progressivo - com umas pitadas de space rock - se equiparando a bandas como Emerson, Lake & Palmer e Triumvirat, por exemplo, ao contrário da maioria das bandas de Canterbury da época, que tocavam jazz-rock e fusion.

Uma grande pena que eles acabaram praticamente após o lançamento desse álbum, mas fica aí mais uma obra de arte progressiva para a posterioridade.

Hello freaks,

Drifting away from the krauties for a while, today we have this English band from Canterbury which only released this album and whose members would take part of major bands like Egg, Gong, Hatfield & The North and National Health. Khan - pronuncied just like the German group Can - followed the traditional progressive tide - with some hints to space rock - as being equally classified in comparison to Emerson, Lake & Palmer and Triumvirat, for example, unlike most Cantebury 70s bands, which mainly played jazz-rock and fusion.

A pitty that they disbanded practically after the release of this album, but here's another progressive masterpiece for the posteriority.

• Tracklist:
01 Space Shanty (8:59)
02 Stranded (6:35)
03 Mixed Up Man Of The Mountains (7:14)
04 Driving To Amsterdam (9:22)
05 Stargazers (5:32)
06 Hollow Stone (8:16)
Bonus Tracks
07 Break The Chains (3:31)
08 Mixed Up Man Of The Mountains (First Version) (4:28)

• Line-up:
Nick Greenwood - bass, vocals
Steve Hillage - guitars, vocals
Eric Peachy - drums
Dave Stewart - organ, piano, skyceleste, marimbas


or ;


  1. Nice surprise in the mornings, warm sunny day arrives, accompanied by joyful music....Really nice to hear......
    “Space Shanty” is a one-off album by a foursome of pedigreed Canterbury,Khan were the almost legendary Steve Hillage (later of Gong and ongoing solo success), Dave Stewart (Egg, Hatfield and teh North, National Health), Nick Greenwood (The Crazy World of Arthur Brown) and Eric Peachy (Dr. K’s Blues Band). Their lifespan was short but that matters not - Khan came together in 1971, and finished this album in March, 1972 with Neil Slaven producing. Dave Stewart even took time off from his band Egg to sit in on the “Space Shanty” sessions. Khan did its share of live shows, supporting such acts as Van Der Graaf Generator and Genesis. Khan continued playing live after “Space Shanty” was finished, but its membership continued to change. Only Hillage remained the original member. After some live dates the money dried up and Khan dissolved. Hillage joined Kevin Ayers on the road four days later and played on the “Banamour” album and later joined Daevid Allen’s Gong.
    The music has a real sense of scale and joy, and the guys are clearly enjoying themselves and their instruments. The recording is warm and straightforward with panning and flanging done to good effect. The Canterbury crowd were quite innovative, particularly with combining effects pedals with keyboards, so by this time weren’t relying too much on studio trickery and tape manipulation.
    “Mixed Up Man Of The Mountains” starts with a fairly straightforward rock beat played at a stride. “Looking at the ground, I’m crying for the sky. I know I can’t hope to go where I can’t be found. But when I close my eyes I start to fly.” And fly they do — just listen and wait for them to break into some of the best Canterbury prog jamming you’ll ever hear. “Driving to Amsterdam” features some particularly fiery keyboard work by Dave Stewart and his prepared keyboards.
    The album has been issued quite a few times, starting with the original Brain and Pink Elephant vinyl pressings in 1972, and a vinyl reissue in America in 1978 on PVC records. There have been CD pressings by Mantra, Deram, Polydor (a Japanese mini-LP style reissue)SHM-CD. l has also recently been reissued by Tapestry records. The CD to get is the new remastered expanded edition by Eclectic Discs (ECLCD 1016), which features great, tight sound from the original master tapes, excellent liner notes, and two previously unreleased cuts.
    This is one of those albums, which did not hesitate a moment to put the highest rating - fully deserves it from beginning to end! At the time of year is obviously not due the applause he won, and today considered a masterpiece, an object of worship and property searches collectors!
    Thanks micose

  2. I must thank you for more complete info!!
    Thanks a lot really!!


  3. Oi, será que vocês tem outro link para download desse álbum? Infelizmente o minhateca está cobrando por downloads :(


Postar um comentário