Captain Beyond - Dawn Explosion (1977)

EAC | CD Image | FLAC+CUE+LOG+Covers | 242 mb+3% recovery

Review by Gary Hill:
Captain Beyond has a rather legendary status in the ranks of hard '70s rock. Their fame is actually in the "cult status" category. Dawn Explosion, their third album, was a good disc, but really did not live up to the greatness of the first two releases. Still, in showcasing the group's unique blend of hard rock, psychedelia, and progressive-type arrangements, there is definitely some strong material present. The hard-edged and frantic "Icarus" and the nearly ethereal, building mini-epic "Breath of Fire (Part 1 and Part 2)" can arguably stand up to most of the material on the other releases. Where they falter here is on such songs as "If You Please" and "Midnight Memories," which seem to be trying to reach toward accessibility, but come much closer to banality and mediocrity. This disc cannot take away from the tremendous glory of the other albums, though, and several of the tracks certainly still hold up well.
1. Do Or Die
2. Icarus
3. Sweet Dreams
4. Fantasy
5. Breath Of Fire  a). A Speck Within A Sphere
6. Breath Of Fire  b). Alone In The Cosmos
7. If You Please
8. Midnight Memories
9. Space Interlude
10. Oblivion
11. Space Reprise

Willy Daffern - vocals
Lee Dorman - bass, string ensemble, vocals [Iron Butterfly]
Larry "Rhino" Reinhardt - guitars [Iron Butterfly]
Bobby Caldwell - drums, percussion, vocals [Johnny Winter, Armageddon]



Postar um comentário