sábado, 20 de setembro de 2014

A. B. Skhy - Ramblin' On (1970, usa Fantastic hard/psychedelic blues rock, vinyl rip) Flac

Formed in Milwaukee in the late 1960s as New Blues, the band comprised Dennis Geyer (guitar, vocals), Jim Marcotte (bass guitar), Terry Anderson (drums), and Howard Wales (keyboards). Wales had previously played with artists such as James Brown and Freddie King. They relocated to San Francisco and changed the band name to A.B. Skhy, building a following with live performances. 

They were signed by MGM Records and worked with producer Richard Delvy on their self-titled debut album, released in 1969. The album featured contributions from guitarist Russell DaShiell, harmonica player Jim Liban, and flautist Otis Hale and spawned the single "Camel Back", which reached number 100 on the Billboard Hot 100.

A seven-piece horn section supported the group on their debut album, a blues-based set modelled on B.B. King and Bobby Bland. 

Following the departures of Andersen and Wales, the remaining members continued with newcomers Rick Jaeger (drums) and James ‘Curley’ Cooke (guitar). The latter was a founder member of
the Steve Miller Band, and a former colleague of Geyer in an
earlier group, Tim Davis And The Chordaires. Ramblin’ On
was produced by the notorious Kim Fowley. 

This informal collection showcased the group’s instrumental muscle and featured cameo performances from guitarist Elvin Bishop and pianist Ben Sidran. However, the group failed to secure a commercial success and broke up during sessions for a
projected third album. 

Founder member Wales later enjoyed a brief association with the Grateful Dead, and recorded 1971’s experimental Hooteroll with the latter’s guitarist, Jerry Garcia.