domingo, 24 de agosto de 2014

Stray - Suicide (1971, uk stupendous hard/psychedelic blues-rock, vinyl rip) Flac

Uma das bandas que melhor faziam hard rock nos anos setenta. Grande album!

London's Stray followed up an eclectic eponymous debut with more of the same on their 1971 sophomore effort, Suicide, which of course was just dandy since "more of the same" on this occasion essentially entailed another imaginative melding of different musical genres under the broad, forgiving definition afforded by the progressive rock.

As to the album's rather negative title, it didn't foreshadow a radical shift toward the quartet's pre-existing heavy rock tendencies (actually, more keyboards were the hot novelty here) so much as a reflection of these songs' darker overall mood when it came to their lyrics. Opener "Son of the Father" offered a perfect example, as it alternated quiet passages of sublime but chilling beauty with other hard-driving but rather upbeat sections -- all supporting questioning meditations about generations of men sent off to war after war.

Some ensuing tracks, like "Nature's Way" and "Do You Miss Me?" continue to showcase Stray's copious testosterone via wicked power chords and boogie grooves (but always interlaced with some unexpected jam or jazzy accent), and the especially forceful "Jericho" catapults untold scores of contrasting riffs against one another with urgent intensity, ultimately culminating in a truly frightening descending riff sequence.

Other songs take the opposite course of gentle introspection, achieving both mesmerizing (the lyrically corny but musically elegiac "Where Do Our Children Belong") and dismaying results (the soppy, string-laden Muzak of "Dearest Eloise"), while the neither-here-nor-there "Run Mister Run" evokes a Southern rock feel with its cow bells and blue-collar construction.

And, finally, there's the controversially themed title track, which combines a Black Sabbath-like bass progression from Gary G. Giles with foreboding fuzz chords and sizzling solo licks from Del Bromham (reminiscent of Sir Lord Baltimore) to impart its gloomy story. Not a very uplifting finale, obviously, but nothing that detracts from Suicide's multi-faceted creative accomplishment, under any circumstance -- especially considering the album was reportedly recorded at Olympic Studios in just 30 hours! 
(by Eduardo Rivadavia)

A1. Son of the Father - 5:48
A2. Nature's Way - 3:29
A3. Where Do Our Children Belong - 3:39
A4. Jericho - 4:55 
B1. Run Mister Run - 3:54 
B2. Dearest Eloise (Steve Gadd) - 2:30
B3. Do You Miss Me? - 6:28 
B4. Suicide - 7:39

segunda-feira, 18 de agosto de 2014

Devil's Kitchen - Devil's Kitchen (1969, us killer psychedelic/blues rock, 2011 reissue, vinyl rip) Flac

The first ever release by DEVIL'S KITCHEN, perhaps the best of the greatly talented but 'forgotten' bands from the legendary San Francisco psychedelic scene of the late 1960's. 

This heavy guitar-powered psychedelic four piece band moved from their original Southern Illinois base to the Bay Area during The Summer Of Love. The band came to the attention of Bill Graham and Chet Helms in 1968 and was soon playing on a regular basis at The Fillmore West. 

A short time later Devil's Kitchen became the house band at Helms' Family Dog Ball-room on The Great Highway in San Francisco and remained there in that capacity from the spring of 1968 until the summer of 1970. 

Devil's Kitchen played all the major venues in The Bay Area and Los Angeles during this time period, opening for and playing frequently with many very well-known bands, including The Jefferson Airplane, The Grateful Dead, Santana, Quicksilver Messenger Service, The Allman Brothers, Big Brother And The Holding Company with Janis, The Charlatans and many, many others. 

The band spurned a recording contract offer from Mercury Records in 1968, displeased with the lack of creative control offered them by the label. Consequently, they never released any recordings. 

There are eight original unreleased tracks on this album and all were taken from the original master tapes that were recorded in 1969 at The Family Dog Ballroom On The Great Highway in San Francisco and the Sierra Sound Recording Studio in Berkeley. 

The music has a great and unmistakable late 60?s acid-drenched West Coast guitar-driven blues-psych sound with snakey electric slide and roaring fuzz guitar throughout, provided by the talented Robbie Stokes who later went on to play with Quicksilver Messenger Service and appeared on Mickey Hart's 1972 'Rolling Thunder' LP, just to mention two of his many musical credits. 

The discovery of these master tapes and this subsequent release of Devil's Kitchen's first full length album, more than forty years after the recordings were made, is an exciting find for the collectors of obscure 60's psychedelia. How a great band like this remained under the radar and unreleased for all these years is mystifying. 

Limited pressing of 1,000 hand-numbered copies. Welcome again to the great San Francisco sound of the late 1960's.

domingo, 3 de agosto de 2014

Help - Second Coming (1971, us astonishing hard blues rock, vinyl rip - Flac)

Esse é um dos meus álbuns de cabeceira; tudo o quê possa se esperar de um grande disco de hard rock aqui pode ser encontrado. Isto é fantástico!

Help were a 1970s psychedelic, acid, hard rock power trio from California which included drummer Chester McCracken who had earlier played with The Evergreen Blueshoes and who later ended up with The Doobie Brothers.

They released two albums on Decca Records in 1970 and 1971."Second Coming" is an album for heavy-psych fans. The outstanding track is "Do You Understand The Words" for its superb psychedelic guitar work and McCracken's heavy rock drumming.

The remainder of the album, which contains all original compositions, has some excellent heavy rock numbers, particularly, "All Day", "Good Time Music" and "Hold On Child".

Surprisingly, they did not attain much commercial success, and both their albums are now minor collectors' items.


A1 Do You Understand The Words 3:35
A2 All Day 3:00
A3 Good Time Music 3:30
A4 Hold On Child 3:58
A5 T.C.A. 7:10
B1 Dear Lord 9:55
B2 Oh My 4:25
B3 Power 6:10